Induction – Day 18

Sorry for the long delay in posts.  So many things have been going on in my life, but thank God I have been able to stick to strict Induction eating.  It really comes somewhat naturally for me, so I don’t even have to do a whole lot of planning.  I know, I know – that sounds conceited.. and I certainly don’t mean it like that.  I’m just able to turn down all the pizza, ice cream, cookie cake (my son celebrated his 10th birthday on the 11th) with no real issues – because I know I DON’T want to be this heavy.  I have done this once before, and am so disappointed in myself for straying from the low carb lifestyle and allowing my once lean and trim body to turn soft and flabby again :/  But praise God for Dr. Atkins putting into plain English how to reverse it – without starving!!

I am in a deep Ketosis now (as I can tell by the side effect of bad breath).  So now, I get to chew lots of sugar free gum.  Well,  not lots – because you need to count the carbs if you’re chewing a ton of it… But you get the point.

We are so blessed to have a Community Center in our town that has free skating and basketball – so I have taken up skating with the kids.  This is an EXCELLENT exercise.  Especially since I don’t have access to any strength training equipment, and don’t own free weights at this point.  I also walk a lot to supplement.  My real goal right now is to step up the exercise to maximize the weight loss.  Remember, Dr. Atkins said exercise is non-negotiable.  Besides, what else are we going to do with all this extra energy 😉

For those wondering, my meals look something like this.

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs, onions, cheddar cheese (LOVE this – and it never gets old to me).

Mid morning snack: Bacon strips (pre-cooked and stored in the fridge in an air tight container) w/ sliced cucumbers

Lunch: Chicken breast or Talapia w/ Spinage or Green Beans

Dinner: Steak, Chicken, or Talapia w/ Spinage or Green Beans

Drink: Diet soda (this is an occasional treat – not an everyday thing)  – Mostly I stick with Unsweetened Tea.

If I’m craving something sweet (which has only happened once so far – and was last night) I make a low carb Induction friendly chocolate mouse.

Here’s a link to a YouTube video where I learned to make it 😉
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=u1JLq5il8IU

PS.  I have tried the chocolate and regular MIM (Muffin In a Minute) and I just can’t get into it.  It’s gross to me :/  I am not giving up though – I still have a lot of Flax Meal left, so I want to give it another go.  I’ll update when I can find a recipe I actually like.

So there you have it – things have been going well, and I am seeing real results.  My size 8’s are fitting!!! (Still a tad tight – but I am encouraged 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

