No more Atkins bars for me!!! Here’s why…

Today I am frustrated.  I was really craving something sweet after the kids (and husband) ate cookies and Popsicles.  So, I walked across the street and bought some Atkins bars (phase 1 – Induction approved).  I ate ONE of them, and did not exceed 20 net carbs for the day.

This morning, this is what the Ketone strip looks like. (I am considering it negative, but it may be slightly pink, which means ‘trace’ amounts).

Image

This is frustrating… So, in the future – I will stick with low-carb, Induction friendly chocolate mousse (or freeze it for a really nice ice cream texture).

1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
2 tsp cocoa
1/2 packet of Truvia (I use the Great Value brand from Wal-Mart)

Whip together in a bowl until the heavy whipping cream looks like / has the consistency of whipped cream.  Enjoy!  (Or freeze it for the mock ice cream).  It won’t compromise your Ketosis – but use this as an OCCASIONAL treat – not an everyday thing.  Maybe once a week – if that.

1 Comment

Filed under Induction

One response to “No more Atkins bars for me!!! Here’s why…

  1. salina110

    that is my favorite induction dessert – not that I’ve had it lately but maybe will for Resurrection Sunday. Awesome occasional treat. I think we have similar taste buds there ….

Leave a Reply

